
St Georges Cemetery
St George’s Cemetery is located just north of the Royal Canal, behind the NCBI building, 45a Whitworth road, Drumcondra, D09RP70.
The land was donated by Luke Gardiner in 1793 and was to be used as the site for both a new church and cemetery for St George’s parish. However the church was not built here but instead was built at Hardwicke Place, just off Dorset St in 1814 to the design of Francis Johnston.
It was a key element in Gardiner’s ambitious urban design for the northward expansion of the city. It was decided that the site chosen off whitworth road would remain as the Parish cemetery for st Georges. The Whitworth Fever Hospital was built in 1818 to the front of the site (later Drumcondra Hospital) and has been occupied by the NCBI since 1987.
The cemetery contains a great many historic grave markers, including a number of elaborate monuments. It is important to the social history of the city, and requests for access by descendants of those buried there are received every month. It is the burial place of Francis Johnston, one of the most important Irish architects of the Georgian period, whose works include the GPO, Townley Hall, Co Louth and St George’s Church, referred to above. Saint George's Church is regarded as the pinnacle of Francis Johnston achievements in Dublin and remains one of the highlights of Dublin's Georgian architectural heritage.